Monday, June 3, 2013

Child Passenger Safety Laws in Ohio

State Law


Ohio’s revised child restraint law requires the following:
  • Children less than 4 years old or 40 pounds must use a child safety seat.
  • Children less than 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall must use a booster seat. (but they can also use a carseat and in some case it's better that they do)
  • Children ages 8-15 must use a child safety seat or safety belt.
Fines will range from a minimum of $25 to a maximum of $75 per occurrence. A booster seat can be purchased for as little as $15. 

Our state laws are ok, but they could be better. Adhering to the law and and stopping carseat/booster use as soon as they say you can isn't recommendable or safe.

 They don't take into account that a 4 year old's bones are still solidifying so it'd be best if they waited to go in a booster slightly later, or that a child needs to properly fit in a seat belt to be protected and not harmed by the belt in a crash so stopping at 8, and not 4' 9" and 80lb + fits the seat properly
. They don't take into account that a 11 year old may still not fit the seatbelt in their vehicle correctly. As a law it isn't good enough and is letting too many children slip through cracks and be potentially injured with preventable injuries.

 Children who are too small for the seatbelt or in only a lap belt can submarine out of it and sustain injuries. Children who don't use the belt properly because they're too small for it can be injured by the belt.

 A booster can be bought for under $15 at Walmart and Kmart. Are they the cushiest? No, but they are as safe as any other as long as you can get proper belt fit. 

Back to Child Passenger Safety Masterpost

No comments:

Post a Comment